Kelvinwright's Blog

postmodern thoughts

September 11th 2001

Just before 14.00h UK time on the 11th of September, 2001, I was about to enter a training room on the 6th floor of my London office. A colleague said to me, “A plane has just hit one of the towers of the World Trade Center in New York!”

“That sounds quite serious!” I replied.

I then closed the door behind me, the faces of my students looking at me, and began 4 hours of training on the company’s telecommunications products. Nobody left the room during the 4 hours and these were the days prior to Blackberry – inside that room, we were probably the only people in the western civilisation who had no idea how much the world was changing.

When somebody told me what was happening, I didn’t believe it. The BBC website had collapsed. The technical support centre in my office had lost contact with several customers – we had fibre into the Towers. I switched my cell-phone on, and found message after message asking me if I had been watching the TV. I left my own messages for friends in NYC, checking if they were ok. When I saw the images, I thought the same as everybody else – This cannot be happening – it cannot be real. Sadly, it was real.

That night I sat on my bed staring at a photo I had taken of the WTC less than a year before. I had been walking across Brooklyn Bridge when I turned round, and there they were – two behemoths reaching up into the skies. Those behemoths were no more.

The first eleven years of the twentieth century saw empires moving towards the war to end all wars. The first eleven years of the twenty first century have seen fanatical terrorist attacks against the very freedom and democracy that those wars were meant to bring us. When we look back and study history, we must think how utterly pointless the tragic loss of life was in the Great War. No doubt, in a hundred years time, historians will believe the same when they look at the 11th of September, 2001, the subsequent terrorist attacks and the many wars that have followed, those that continue, and those that sadly, have yet to start.

September 10, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

