Kelvinwright's Blog

postmodern thoughts

Travel Revolution – the Millenials have arrived

20130815_Millennial_Traveller  By the end of the decade, millenials (those who are, in very broad terms, between 18 and 30 years of age) will be the travel market’s biggest sector.

 

I have been living the Up in the Air life the last few months, since starting in a new, exciting job. I’ve seemingly slept in hotels more than in my own bed since April, so much so that several times I have woken up in the night, not knowing where I am.

 

Despite being tired after each of my early starts (I wake up before the birds begin their song) I always ask for the wi-fi code (in reality, I no longer need to – they know me at the hotel, greet me by name, and hand me the wifi code even before my room key). It doesn’t matter where I am, or how tired I am, it seems that a prerequisite for the 21st century traveller is that hotels offers free wi-fi – why should we pay for a basic right? (the right to stay connected). It’s as much a way to save on expensive roaming charges, as it is the sense of community, to stay connected, wherever we are, and at whatever hour.

 

Wifi allows me to sit in a bar or a cafe, with views of the street, the sea, the park, to chill out late at night, or early in the evening or morning, scanning the news, answering emails, or posting photos of my travels, opinions, where I am in life, how I am, what I’m drinking, whether it’s an orange juice to start my day, or the beer or Prosecco at the end of it.

 

CNN did a great little series of short documentaries on millenial’s travel preferentials, from hotels to airports and bars.

 

When on travels, (business or pleasure, or a mixture of the two), what do you look for in twenty-first century hotels?

 

 

 

See the video, Fussy millennials redefine travel:

http://edition.cnn.com/video/?/video/international/2013/11/14/spc-business-traveller-millennials-a.cnn&c=/SPECIALS/business.traveller/index.html&video_referrer=

 

Image from: http://www.hotelnewsnow.com/article/11031/Hoteliers-seek-loyalty-among-millennials

 

August 23, 2014 Posted by | Uncategorized | , | Leave a comment